• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Advice on dropping a subject (1 Viewer)

lDoHl

HSC
I am currently studying 13 units and due to the workload I havent' been able to steadily study for each of my subjects.
Currently studying:-
English Adv
= Maths X1
= Math X2
= Jap Continuers
= Jap X1
= Chem
= Business

I am considering dropping either Business or Chem. Careless mistakes in prac assessments has seen my rank go to 32/48 (as opposed to business's 9/20) but there are few marks separating people.
For Business, we get large amounts of hw basically every single day, not leaving much time to focus on other subjects. I enjoy Chem classes more but find Business concepts easier to understand. From half yearlies, I know that if I focus on Chem I can improve a lot but I find this could also be the case for Business.
Taking scaling into account, Chemistry has the better scaling.

For Uni I have been considering a Commerce course but should I change my mind in the future, dropping Chem would be closing off my options and would require for me to do a bridging course.

Any advice from people would be much appreciated.

bEAbEA

HSC
I would say to drop business because it is scaled less and you are getting lots of homework. Also, the fact that you enjoy chem more means that you are more likely to study for it when the HSC comes around.
Also, as miss_gtr said, chem leaves your opens open more for uni.

~ ReNcH ~

!<-- ?(°«°)? -->!
HSC