• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

do i need chem for med (1 Viewer)

idk123233

HSC
Do I need chemistry for medicine in new south wales, i really don't wanna do chemistry. I know little to nothing about chemistry. I've tried researching perquisites for universities to get into med but couldn't find much info (probably cuz i suck at researching). so can i get into medicine without doing chem in y11 and y12?

idkkdi

HSC
Do I need chemistry for medicine in new south wales, i really don't wanna do chemistry. I know little to nothing about chemistry. I've tried researching perquisites for universities to get into med but couldn't find much info (probably cuz i suck at researching). so can i get into medicine without doing chem in y11 and y12?
why do you not want to do chemistry if you want to do med?

idk123233

HSC
why do you not want to do chemistry if you want to do med?
i'm not good at it nor do i have enjoy it.Ihave picked biology as i enjoy it and tend get good marks in it, however with chem i don't.

idk123233

HSC
Not really, Biology and anatomy are the main components of med. But many med students never do bio or anatomy. The stuff in med can be learnt through the course as it's designed to.

On top of that UNSW and USYD have this thing where they don't show your employee your marks. So all you have to do is pass the courses not get maximum grades. They do this to create a positive learning environment because the practical component is just as important as theory
Thank you for your reply, the subjects i have picked are: adv math, adv english, biology, business studies, pdhpe and legal studies

nathanzhou1234

HSC
Generally no, but it helps a lot. The only prereqs are at least advanced maths for usyd I believe

idk123233

HSC
Generally no, but it helps a lot. The only prereqs are at least advanced maths for usyd I believe