• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

I am a newbie seeking advice (1 Viewer)

maxximus

Hello everyone,

Howzit going? Im sure you get thousands of newbies on here asking the same kind of stuff, but here i go anyway! Hope you dont mind.

I am a Year 12 student at Epping Boys High School. When I started school, i did really well (first in class in year 7), then it all went pear shaped from there.

In the 5 years that have gone past since then i have gone downhill to a point where I am now 'cruising' along, not doing badly, but pretty average, except in the couple of subjects I like I do pretty well (IPT and VA). I am doing terribly at maths 2 unit (30% in the first HSC assessment 4th term last year.

These are my subjects:

- Biology
- Maths 2 Unit
- English Advanced 2 Unit
- VA
- IPT

I was doing Physics but i decided to drop it this year. I did that because I wasnt doing well at all and I hated it.

Anyway, I've figured that ive spent the past 12 years at school, and I am not going to throw all of that away just so I can 'cruise' through year 12. I want to do well.

But the problem is I have no clue about self discipline or self motivation. I have no goals- i dont know what i want to do after school in terms of a career or further study.

I know that if I spend 2-3 hours a day doin homework and studying Yr 12 will be fairly easy and I will get a good mark. I know Im capable of doing well, its just the self discipline issue that I cant seem to combat... :chainsaw:

Thanks in advance

Winston

HSC