• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Judges, Common Law & Sep of Powers (2 Viewers)

NeLLi19

HSC
Hi there,

I am a first year Uni student and I have an essay to complete in relation to the following statement "Judges create and expand the common law. The fact that they do so is a clear and undesirable breach of the doctrine of sepration of powers".....Critique this statement. Make sure you give reasons why you do or do not agree with it.

Now... after reading ALLLL my material I think I am on the right track, was wondering if someone of a very "Legal Capacity" could give me their views so I know I am on the right track!

Most Appreciative!!

Regards
N:)

MoonlightSonata

Retired
HSC
N/A
How about you put some of your views first and then we'll give you feedback on them.

NeLLi19

HSC
Hi there

Ok,,, see I am not sure but here is my view at the moment (scared someone will tear it apart!!!).

For Judges to create and expand common law, it is a breach of the sep of powers due to the third arm, being Judiciary as they have to "enforce" the laws that are made, however i wouldnt class it as an undesireable breach because if you refer to Donoghue v Stevenson [1932] AC 562 it shows that many bodies of law was used towards this case law and the way different Judges had interpreted it being similar facts etc etc and also wouldnt it be a good thing for Judges to create and expand common law as our society changes continuously,............. thats were i am at- at the moment, tho everytime I read something I find myself getting more and more confused.....

Does that make sense sorry been sitting here for hours to get my head around it....would I be on the right track or not?

Regards
N

MoonlightSonata

Retired
HSC
N/A
Some things for you to consider: