• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Me and my pug fugly win98 desktop. Need help. (1 Viewer)

absolution*

ymyum
HSC
My mum managed to steal a pc from her work that i can use to study but win98 is the most ugmo desktop ever when youve been using xp for a long time. I was just wondering if there are any progs or apps which can sexify up my desktop on win98.

absolution*

ymyum
HSC
Cheers. Looks good.

What about black box? Does that work on XP? Whats it like?

HSC
Blackbox is originally a linux window manager, but a quick google seems to turn up a windows port at http://www.bb4win.org/news.php . It looks pretty decent, though I have no experience with it whatsoever (The Windows version at least). If it's like the linux version then the focus tends to be on a minimal approach, so that might be something to try if you want to minimise resource usage (But again, I'm not sure how efficient the Windows version is).

One screenshot that did impress me is at:

http://box.crackmonkey.us/screenies/2732.jpg

but that might just be the wallpaper :)

equiski

HSC
me in the linux thread said:
If you just want to confuse your siblings and have a neato new interface to boot, maybe you should look into an alternant shell for windows. Then you are able to keep all your current programs and settings. It simply gives you a different interface to manage your windows and (in some cases) file system with. Litestep is my favourite shell, there is a huge community dedicated to creating awesome skins for it. There is always the option to permenantly or tempoary return to explorer, Its a small free download and installs in no time, so its definantly worth a shot.

This is the homepage.
http://www.beyondconvention.net/ohussain/
Be sure to check out the official skins on the homepage, they are very pretty.

Various shell reviews can be found at:
http://shells.loose-screws.com/